Spec writers nab eight awards, including...
Bookmark and Share
May 04, 2014  |  Vote 0    0

Spec writers nab eight awards, including journalist of the year

Hamilton Spectator

The Hamilton Spectator's investigative reporter Steve Buist cleaned up at this year's Ontario Newspaper Awards, including being named Journalist of the Year.

Buist was lauded for his Cancer: A Code Red Project and for his thorough research that was featured in his other award winning stories. He took home top honours in the Business Writing category, Investigative/Enterprise Reporting, Municipal Affairs and Health News and Lifestyle.

Spec journalists won eight awards and were finalists in 12 categories at the 60th annual Ontario Newspaper Awards ceremony Saturday night at the Sheraton Hotel downtown.

"As usual, The Spectator demonstrated again why it's a great newspaper. These honours are indicative of the important work, big and small, that the entire staff does every day," said Paul Berton, Editor in Chief.

Hamilton Tiger-Cat reporter Drew Edwards won for Sports Writing (over 25,000 circulation) and he also took the Sports Writing award (under 25,000 circulation) for his work for The Guelph Mercury. He made it a hat trick by winning the Humour Writing award, also for The Guelph Mercury.

Amy Kenny won for Novice Reporting (over 25,000 circulation) for her jailhouse interview, the closing of a Hamilton flophouse and a feature on changing religious attitudes.

Jon Wells owned the Feature Writing category for his series which profiled Hamilton General Hospital's ICU. He was also nominated for Journalist of the Year and Municipal Affairs categories.

Honourable mentions went to recent Goff Penny award winner Molly Hayes for Feature Writing, Lisa Grace Marr for Business Writing, Matthew Van Dongen for Green Environment Writing and Education Writing, John Bullock in the Design and Graphics category, Mark McNeil and Barry Gray for Online Video Production, Susan Clairmont for General News Feature, Teri Pecoskie for Health News and Lifestyle, Paul Benedetti for Humour Writing and Lorraine Sommerfeld for Column Writing.

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login


In Your Neighbourhood Today